WE LOVE NIKON interview08
John S. Payne | 肖像摄影师,现居美国

别具特色的摄影工作室正是
与尼康一路走来的人生见证

John S. Payne

铭刻在350多件
尼康产品上的40余年人生

photo photo

Payne先生,您在一座曾经是电影院的历史建筑里开设了摄影工作室,请介绍一下在这里建立摄影工作室的经过。

  我是1988年2月买下这里的。差不多是我摄影工作步入正轨的第5个年头。当时北卡罗莱纳州的家具产业十分兴旺。我就想要一个能够拍摄家具等大型物件的摄影工作室,因此要寻找一个层高较高、没有柱子、空间宽阔的场所。当时曾经考虑过能符合我要求的可能是教会或者仓库,但电影院确实没有想到过。直到有一天我偶然路过这里的时候发现这里正好在出售,就进来看了一下内部结构。结果一下就被这里宽阔的空间给迷住了。这里层高大约有7.6米,面积有557平方米。光凭这么大的面积就十分让人心动了。买下这里之后,我对内部进行了装修,在实现作为摄影工作室和画廊的功能的同时,更好地发挥其作为装饰艺术运动时期历史建筑物的历史价值。我的摄影工作室正式开业是在1989年1月。
  90年代中期,我开始在这里展示当时数量还不算多的我的尼康收藏品。不过如今我的收藏已经达到了一定的规模,也正是因为有着宽阔的空间我才能将这些藏品全部都展示出来。从工作室那边可以直接看到这里,会让我感觉心情舒畅。
  之后我的工作重心逐渐向肖像摄影转移,如今人像摄影大约要占我工作的8成。工作室里也挂满了我迄今为止拍摄的人物肖像作品。

photo photo
photo

我认为拍摄人物肖像需要的是彼此的之间的信赖和尼康照相机

photo photo

目前您主要拍摄什么类型的肖像呢?您在拍摄人像时有没有一些比较注重的东西呢?

  除了广告照片以外,我主要还拍摄家庭纪念照和儿童照,还有高中的毕业纪念册等等。拍摄人物时我会特别注意表情。多数摄影师都会把拍摄的焦点放在“眼睛”上,而我则比较注重整个面部。我认为与要被拍摄的人建立起信赖,缓和气氛,引导其做出自然放松的表情很重要。为此就不能在摄影器材上分心,要全神贯注地与拍摄对象进行交流。从这方面来讲,尼康产品的可靠性对我来说也是不可或缺的。在照片质量方面,因为我对尼康器材的信赖,让我可以专心地与眼前要拍摄的人进行交流。这是已经成为我身体一部分的尼康照相机以及我深深信赖的尼克尔镜头的功劳。尼康是我信任了超过40年并且一直在持续使用的品牌。与尼康产品长期构筑起来的信任关系正是我能够自信面对人像摄影工作的原因之一。

photo

您在拍摄肖像时使用的是哪款相机?

  我主要使用“D4”。我喜欢它的做工和机身的触感。而且它响应时间和自动对焦方面也不错。在需要拍摄大幅照片时,我会使用“D800E”。近期计划要升级到“D850”。常用的镜头则是尼克尔70-200mm f/2.8 VRⅡ、105mm f/1.4、24-70mm f/2.8。

photo

与尼康的邂逅决定了我的人生

photo photo

请您介绍一下与尼康的邂逅以及您对尼康的感想。

  我是在11岁左右的时候知道尼康的。大我8岁的摄影师哥哥当时选择的就是尼康,而我也追随着哥哥,对尼康着迷了。这便是我和尼康照相机、尼克尔镜头的邂逅。
  上中学以后,我终于拥有了属于自己的第一台尼康照相机“Nikkormat FT2”。虽然只是入门级的相机,但是对我来说却是憧憬已久的尼康产品。从那之后,我日日夜夜与它相伴。
  自此以后,始终都是尼康照相机伴随着我的摄影之路。它制作精密,能够实现我一直以来所追求的视觉艺术效果。我能够成为一名成功的摄影师,离不开尼康产品这40多年来的支持。

photo photo

作为工作用的工具,您认为尼康照相机有哪些优点?

  我的人生中始终都有尼康的陪伴。在我将成为专业摄影师设定为自己的目标时,我认为专注于F卡口等系统一致性的尼康很适合我。尼康良好的品质与多样化的附件以及性能的可靠性帮助我展现出了我心中所想的世界。
  在成为专业摄影师之后,我更加能感受到我使用的尼康器材性能还很稳定。摄影师在工作中所使用的器材必须可靠,尼康良好的品质让我能够从容面对多种复杂的拍摄环境。而且尼康照相机的操作性也很好。例如以前的“D300”及“D2X”等数码相机,如今拿来也很容易上手。这是因为尼康照相机的操作方式保持有一贯性。
  另外,尼克尔镜头也很好。较高的光学性能,卡扣牢固等方面都能让人感受到尼康的技术实力。为了能够将自己头脑中描绘的画面展现出来,工作用的照相机必须要拥有适配广泛镜头的功能。而且所能适配的镜头都需要能够实现摄影所需的表现力和可靠性。从这些方面来讲,尼克尔镜头就很合适。这也是我选择尼康作为工作用工具的一个重要理由之一。说到底,可以根据需要从哥哥那里借到对应的尼克尔镜头也是我选择尼康的关键理由。成为专业摄影师之后,我在暗房里用了25年以上的EL尼克尔镜头,在胶片摄影中,我使用的也是尼克尔镜头。回顾过往,在我作为摄影师的成长历程中,始终都有尼克尔镜头相伴。

photo

超过350件尼康收藏品

photo photo photo

Payne先生,您作为收藏家收集了不少的尼康产品,在您的藏品中,给您印象较深的是哪一件呢?

  从当初迷上摄影开始,我就没有为了升级设备而卖过自己使用过的相机。我自己买的第一台照相机至今仍然保留着。就这样我所买的每一台相机都保留了下来,逐渐积累变成了收藏品。
  目前为止,我拥有超过350件相机和镜头。我并没有进行系统的收集,只是将自己使用过的和喜欢的产品收集了起来。因此,同一机型的照相机也会有多个不同的版本,相同焦距的镜头也会有多个不同样式和不同元素的产品,第一次看到的人可能会觉得惊讶。
  至今为止,我所使用过的相机中,给我印象较为深的是“Nikon F”。到现在它都还能正常使用。可以说是给今天的相机行业带来了一些影响的一款照相机。
  我的收藏品都展示在工作室里,拍摄中想要不同感觉的风格时,也可能会从展柜中拿出40年前的镜头来使用。被称为是尼康经典的镜头也能够安装到新款照相机上来使用。我认为这种系统兼容性是尼康的优点之一,也是尼康风格的一种体现。

photo

请从您所收藏的尼康产品中选出3种您较为满意的。

  1959年发售的黑色“Nikon F”是我很喜欢的一款相机。它是序列号640开头的第一批生产的产品。这个时代的照相机其实很容易找到,但是黑色机身的却不多见。我还有这款相机用的马达驱动器F-36。这款黑色机身的应该算是我心中的最爱之一了。
  8mm f/2.8的鱼眼镜头也是我很喜欢的产品之一。如果要再选一个的话,应该是“Nikon F3/T”了。他是带相机盒和镜头的限定产品。

photo photo

您对今后的尼康产品有什么期待?希望出现什么样的新产品?

  说到镜头,我希望能有FX格式的广角变焦镜头,要比现有的型号更广一点。其他公司已经推出了11mm或12mm的镜头,我希望尼康也能够生产此类产品。虽然尼康拥有发售至今都很受欢迎的14-24mm产品,不过我还是希望能够看到尼康12-20mm的产品!你知道么?如果是12-20mmf/2.8的产品,相信喜欢广角的人们会很乐意购买。
  说到相机,我比较期待无反系列推出新产品。“Df”系统的数码相机也不错。外观设计类似“Nikon F”或者“Nikon FM”的机型。我有过做销售的经验,除了个人喜好以外,从销售的角度来讲这些产品也应该会有人气。尼康应该能够以比较合适的成本来研发这些产品吧。

photo
photo

对尼康创立100周年纪念的赠言

我开始摄影时是想用它来作为展现创意的方法。在至今的40多年里,我一直在不断努力通过摄影来展现自己脑海中所描绘的景象,在面对照片时总是喜欢拿着尼康的照相机。当然,我对照相机的迷恋可能比别人更深。希望尼康能够始终重视和保持自己的风格和理念,倾听我们专业摄影师的声音,关注我们的想法,我相信这将成为尼康研发的重要力量。要保持尼康品牌活力和优势就必须将这些努力体现到产品中去。祝愿我们所喜爱的尼康能够生产出更多更好的产品。

John S. Payne

John S. Payne先生

于1985年在罗切斯特工科大学(Rochester Institute of Technology)(位于纽约州,罗切斯特市)获得专业摄影学学士学位。

所属团体:
Professional Photographers of America (PPA)美国职业摄影师协会

WE LOVE NIKON
interview08 John S. Payne | 肖像摄影师,现居美国
rotate

WE LOVE NIKON interview08
John S. Payne | Portrait Photographer from the United States

My studio is a portrait of
my journey with Nikon

John S. Payne

40 years of history engraved into
more than 350 Nikon products

photo photo

Mr. Payne, your studio is housed in an impressive historical building, which was once a theater. Please tell us a little about how you came to setup your studio in this venue.

 I bought the building in February of 1988, which was about five years after my photography business started taking off. The furniture manufacturing industry was big in North Carolina back then, so I was looking for a building with tall ceilings and big open spaces without columns. What came to mind first were churches and warehouses; theaters didn’t even cross my mind. But one day, I passed by this building and there was a “for sale” sign in the window so I contacted the realtor and was given a tour of the premises. I was overwhelmed by the spaciousness; 25 foot (7.6 meters) ceilings and about 6,000 square feet (557 square meters) of vast space. That was enough to sell me on it. Although it took a lot of refurbishing to make it usable while maintaining the historical value of the Art Deco era building, I managed to bring it to a point where it could function as a studio as well as a gallery to display my work, and I was able to open to the public in January of 1989.
 By the mid-90’s, I had what would be called a collection, a small one at the time. Though, it just grew over time, and now it is quite extensive and unique in my opinion. But what makes it special is this grand venue to display all my collection. To me, the studio is not only a place to shoot but also to sit down, relax, and enjoy my collection.
 My work had gradually steered more towards shooting portraits. The walls for the studio are filled with large format portraits of clients, both past and present.

photo photo
photo

A feeling of trust, and Nikon cameras—the essentials of portrait shooting

photo photo

What kind of portraits do you shoot now? What aspect do you focus your attention on, and is there anything you have to take particular care with when shooting portraits?

 In addition to commercial head shots, I photograph everything from family portraits to children, to high school seniors. Typically, the first thing that catches my eye is going to be expression. When you talk to a lot of portrait photographers, they’re going to say the “eyes” but for me, I take that a step further to not just the eyes, but to include the rest of the face. The part that I think is most important is the connection between the photographer and the subject. For that I try to get the person relax and let their guard down, so they give me a great expression. And for this I need to concentrate totally on the subject instead of on the technical and gear-oriented aspects of the job. Nikon products offer the dependability I need day in and day out; they’re indispensable. As for the quality of the shots, I can totally concentrate on communicating with the person in front of me because I can completely rely on the camera. This is because Nikon cameras allowed me to grow, together with truly reliable NIKKOR lenses. Nikon has been a brand that I’ve relied on and used for over 40 years. And the reason I can engage with my profession as portrait photographer due in no small part to the trust-based relationship I’ve built with Nikon products over a long period of time.

photo

Which cameras do you use for portraits?

 The majority of my portrait work is done with a Nikon D4. I’ve always favored the build quality and the feel of the professional bodies. And, the responsiveness is great as is the AF system. In situations where I need to deliver a large portrait for a client, I would select my D800E. Shortly, I plan on upgrading to the D850. Lens choices vary between 70-200mm f/2.8 VRⅡ, 105mm f/1.4, and 24-70mm f/2.8.

photo

Encountering Nikon changed my life

photo photo

Can you tell us your encounters with Nikon and your thoughts toward Nikon?

 I first became aware of Nikon cameras when I was around 11 years old. My brother, who is 8 years my senior, was an avid photographer. His camera of choice was Nikon and that led me to follow in his footsteps. That was the beginning of my relationship with Nikon cameras and NIKKOR lenses.
 The first Nikon product I got a hold of was the Nikkormat FT2, when I was a seventh grader. It was the entry level Nikon but to me it was the Nikon I’d always dreamed of. This is what got me started and it was a camera that would allow me to grow my skills.
 Since then, it was always Nikon cameras that captured my enthusiasm for photography. They are wonderfully crafted instruments that have served me for over 40 years and supported me to have a successful career in photography, and even now, they allow me to pursue my visual art form.

photo photo

Tell us about the points on which Nikon is superior as a work tool for you?

 Nikon was definitely a part of me for over 40 years. When I decided to aim to become a professional photographer, I thought Nikon was the best suited gear for me with their systematic consistency; like their commitment to continue with the “F” bayonet mount. Nikon’s build quality and extensive array of accessories, and most of all, the unwavering dependability, has helped me to bring any concept within reach.
 Nikon build quality is tremendous and they work flawlessly – that’s something I feel more acutely after becoming a professional photographer. You have to be able to rely on the equipment to pursue the work but Nikon has always provided superb products that can be used with peace of mind in any given situation. And, the way the cameras work, I think is very nice. For instance, I can pick up and use, say, an older digital camera like the D300 or D2X and use the controls just as seamlessly now as I did eight or nine years ago, because everything, whether it’s old or new, is laid out in a similar manner.
 And, best of all, NIKKOR lenses are so superb. Their high technical prowess is apparent with the optical quality, and very robust mounts. When using professional cameras and pro series lenses, you need options; lenses that are going to do the job that I envision in my mind. All lenses must satisfy the imaging power and reliability that professionals demand. In this sense, NIKKOR lenses are dependable. I can trust in NIKKOR lenses and the overall craftsmanship is something that stands out to me. One of the big reasons in choosing Nikon was because of my brother; I could borrow lenses from him whenever I needed to. In the darkroom, I’ve been using nothing but EL NIKKOR lenses for over 25 years, even after turning professional. When I shoot film, the lenses on my view camera are also all NIKKOR. Looking back I realize that I’ve worked with NIKKOR lenses in all aspects of my photographic life, and as a result, grown as a photographer.

photo

My Nikon collection now contains over 350 items

photo photo photo

You have quite an extensive number of Nikon products as a collector. Which Nikon products made the greatest impression on you?

 Ever since I started photography, I was not good at buying a camera, using it and selling it off for an upgrade. I hung onto what I owned and this is how the collection grew over time. I still own the very first camera that I bought back in 1975.
 Currently my Nikon collection contains over 350 cameras and lenses. My collection did not grow systematically but rather it was based on the items that I actually used or wanted. This must be an eye opener for those seeing the collection for the first time as I have variants of same camera models, and several lenses that are of repeated focal length with different design or elements and so forth.
 The camera that made the greatest impression on me is the Nikon F. It is the core of my collection and it literally works flawlessly today. The build quality is tremendous. This camera certainly had a big influence, in my opinion, of the cameras of today.
 Because my collection is always on display at my studio, I enjoy being able to go to the shelves and select a 40-year-old lens and get really nice results if I wanted a different look during a shoot. So-called classic lenses can literally be used on a current camera. System compatibility across time is something that I’m truly fond of, and is something Nikon can be proud of. It’s a cornerstone of the Nikon philosophy that supports the original style.

photo

If you had to choose three Nikon Products out of your vast collection, which ones would they be?

 The black-body 1959 Nikon F I have is a rare gem. It’s one of the earliest, from the 640 serial block. You can find cameras from that era without too much searching, but what you don’t see often is the black finish. Also, I’ve got the F-36 motor drive attached to it. That would probably be my number one item.
 An 8mm f/2.8 fish eye would be another one. And, for the third, I’m going to say the limited edition F3/T, that’s a T for titanium, with matching lens, which was sold as a set in a presentation box.

photo photo

What expectations do you have for Nikon products in the future? And what kinds of products do you want to see?

 As for lenses, a wide angle lens in FX format would be nice. One that is a little bit wider than what they offer. Currently, other manufacturers are putting out 11 and 12mm lenses, though it’s something I’d like to see from Nikon too. Nikon makes a wonderful 14 to 24mm lens. However I’d love to see a 12 to 20mm, you know, as bright as f/2.8, that would be a very sellable lens for people who shoot wide angles.
 As for cameras, I’d like to see mirrorless digital cameras along the lines of the Df. It would be nice if they’re cosmetically geared towards either a Nikon F or Nikon FM. I’ve got some experience in retail sales and looking at it from a standpoint of not only what I would like but what other people would like, I think it would be something that will just fly off the shelf. And, I think Nikon can make it at a price point that isn’t going to be too off-putting to people.

photo
photo

Message to Nikon on the company’s 100th anniversary

I got into photography as a way to be creatively expressive. Ever since, for 40 years, I’ve worked hard to be able to do the job the way I envision it. I’ve always given priority to taking photos with a Nikon camera. For that reason, my thoughts towards the camera and photography are twice as deep. I hope Nikon will continue to keep its ears and eyes open to the thoughts of working photographers. Talking to people in the field and listening to what they have to say. That dedication and attitude, I think is a big part of the research and development at Nikon. This kind of approach to product development, I feel, is something that keeps the brand very vibrant and very competitive. I hope that Nikon will continue to make better products for those of us who love Nikon.

John S. Payne

Mr. John S. Payne

Education: Bachelor of Science in Professional Photography, 1985; Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY

John S. Payne is a member of:
Professional Photographers of America (PPA)

WE LOVE NIKON
interview08 John S. Payne | Portrait Photographer from the United States
rotate