WE LOVE NIKON interview06
Pong Skuntanaga | 企业高管,现居泰国

与尼康结缘是泰国人民的骄傲

代表泰国的狂热尼康粉丝

Pong Skuntanaga

Skuntanaga先生,您是商务人士,同时也是圈内有名的带着尼康相机环游世界的摄影师。最早让您对拍照产生兴趣的契机是什么?

  让我对拍照感兴趣的契机是小时候偶然看到的影集。当时并不知道作者是谁,长大以后重新再看的时候才知道那是普密蓬国王(拉玛九世)的作品。我由此了解到拍摄出这般美妙照片的前国王是如此的多才多艺,内心觉得十分触动。自此之后,我就觉得影集中收录的所有照片都包含着各自不同的深意。外国人可能难以理解,作为泰国人的我真的觉得能够接触到前国王的作品是一段非常美好的经历。从那以后我便更加崇拜我们的前国王了。
  在我的收藏品中,“Nikon S2”是让我觉得很骄傲的一款藏品。因为,“Nikon S2”是普密蓬国王在其非常重要的时期所使用过的相机之一。我清楚地记得当时前国王无论去到哪里都会带着这款相机。回想起来,经由“Nikon S2”拍摄的历史性事件应该很多。应该也有很多人都看过那张前国王将这款相机放在膝盖上的照片。前国王使用这款相机进行拍摄的身姿也经常出现在照片中。很多泰国人都是通过这样的照片来缅怀普密蓬国王的。

Nikon S2

作为尼康的忠实用户,您是如何看待“尼康将核心生产线设立在泰国”这一新闻的?

  作为泰国国民,作为尼康的资深粉丝,我觉得非常骄傲。尼康选择泰国作为生产基地,也许是因为尼康认为“泰国拥有生产尼康高科技相机的能力”。
  对于泰国人民来说,与只将泰国作为销售对象的其他品牌相比,我们能感受到尼康更加看重泰国,希望与泰国构建更深层次的信赖关系,因此泰国人民对尼康的印象也更好。我认为,通过对泰国市场的投资可以让尼康与泰国的联系更加紧密。

Pong Skuntanaga Nikon S2

希望一直与
尼康携手前行

您的第一个尼康相机是什么型号?另外,请介绍一下初次拿到尼康相机时的第一印象。

  为了挑选人生中第一台相机而专程去日本相机店的情形,我现在依然记忆犹新。因为店内展示了各种品牌的照相机,我当时把店里所有品牌的相机都试了一遍。我把店内每一台单反相机都拿在手上试用,感受相机的手感。而让我脑中立刻闪现“就是它了”想法的,正是“Nikon F-801S”。我最初使用尼康相机的印象是“坚固耐用,非常适合我”。

Nikon F-801S

您使用尼康相机都拍摄哪些类型的照片呢?

  我喜欢在日常生活中挑战各种不同的摄影类型,不拘泥于特定的类型。不过,话虽如此,我还是有比较喜欢的摄影主题。我无论在工作中还是在私人生活中,都有很多旅行的机会,每次我都一定会将摄影安排到日程当中去。拍摄最多的主要是旅行中遇到的自然风景以及首次到访的具有异国情调的街道等。
  照片的题材方面,我现在最感兴趣的是日食。全世界大约每年都会出现1次日食,我就是在世界各地旅行追逐日食的“日食猎人”。我第一次拍摄日食是在1995年。那是在泰国出现的日全食。当时使用的是“Nikon F-801S”和AI AF Zoom- NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED镜头,这样的胶片相机进行的拍摄。第二次则是在上海。那次使用的是数码相机。我的这两次拍摄都取得了成功,从此就有了“想要拍摄地球上发生的每一次日食”的梦想。至今为止,我已经拍摄了6次日全食和2次日环食,共计8次。今后我也将继续追逐太阳被月亮遮蔽的瞬间。

Eclipse Eclipse
Photo
Photo Photo

至今为止在您旅行拍摄照片的过程中,有什么让您印象深刻的事情吗?

  为了摄影而旅行的话,我不太会选择普通的地方。你看这张照片。这是在珠穆朗玛峰大本营拍摄的。这里不是随便就能去的地方。珠峰大本营的气温通常在零下10℃到零下20℃,有时就算降到零下30℃也不稀奇。珠峰大本营的星空非常美丽,我为了拍摄那里的星空而在帐篷外架着相机进行了3~4个小时的长曝光摄影。即使在这样的条件下,当时使用的尼康相机并没有出现故障,从按下快门一直到拍摄结束,尼康相机很好地帮助我记录下了那里的美丽星空。

您现在喜欢使用哪款相机?

  我最早使用的数码相机是“D2X”。当时是配置比较高的机型,不过数码相机的性能每年都在不断提升,升级换代不可避免。目前我主要使用的相机是“D5”。“D5”兼具了高速和高分辨率,就目前来说,我认为是拥有比较好的性能,和我非常契合的相机。

Pong Skuntanaga

在您的尼康收藏品中,您最喜欢哪款相机?

  “Nikon F4”让我感受到了相机的变革期。除了“Nikon F3AF”,这款相机应该是尼康第一款正式搭载自动对焦功能的相机。虽然当时都说“自动对焦功能还不够成熟”。但是,这款相机却改变了这股风潮。它所搭载的自动对焦功能拥有着很高的性能,让人们赞不绝口。不过对我来说,我还是认为“Nikon F4”是尼康历史上设计比较良好的相机。
  还有一些相机是我花了很大功夫才得到的。例如,于中国生肖狗年(1994年)发售的“Year of the Dog”。它是在“Nikon FM2/T”的相机上雕刻上了狗的图案。一共只生产了300台,是一款稀有的相机。
  再说说镜头。尼克尔镜头的商品目录中,自动对焦镜头系列中的镜头,我几乎都有。以前的尼克尔镜头中,我比较喜欢AI Noct NIKKOR 58mm f/1.2。它是大约40年前发售的夜间摄影用镜头。在一次产品更新之后,这个类型的镜头就没有再生产了。因此这款镜头也就变得稀少,是在普通镜头组中价格比较高的镜头之一。
  我现在非常喜欢尼康,我还拍摄过尼康的广告牌。我希望自己的一生能够永远和尼康相伴。

Year of the Dog AI Noct NIKKOR 58mm f/1.2
Photo

理想的现代版“Nikon F4”

您对尼康的未来有什么期待?希望尼康能够研发出什么产品呢?

  我与尼康,从胶片相机时代到现在,共同经历了几代的成长。我相信,尼康今后也将一如既往,继续提出好的创意,为用户提供更好的产品。不断创新的态度正是尼康能够不断研发新产品的力量源泉。我相信“尼康能够不断地继续进步,拥有光明的未来”。
  今后希望尼康能够推出小型的专业机型。“D5”等专业相机都拥有较高的可靠性和耐用性,能够发挥出色的性能。我希望今后能推出具备同等性能的小型相机。例如,灵活多变的的数码相机“Nikon F4”。希望未来能够推出传感器的类型和取景器的尺寸都可以更改的模块化相机。能够像机器人一样拆卸或更换机身、后盖等部件,我认为这才是尼康的专长。如果能够将胶片时代的专长运用到数码相机上,我想就一定能够设计出我理想中的照相机了吧。

Pong Skuntanaga
Pong Skuntanaga

对尼康创立100周年纪念的赠言

我认为无论是人还是企业,达到100岁并不容易。在这个高速变化的世界里,更是如此。我坚信,创建超过100年的尼康,今后在注重自己核心理念的同时,也将继续不断进步。同时,也将始终保持优秀相机生产商的地位。如果还能再活100年的话,我会毫不犹豫地继续使用尼康100年。从第一次踏入相机店的那一天开始,我就选择了尼康。从尼康的各类型相机和镜头中,我感受到了尼康的力量。我想说,选择尼康是我正确的决定,这一选择今后也不会动摇。

Pong Skuntanaga

Pong Skuntanaga先生

Nikon (Thailand) Co., Ltd.
泰国与尼康

尼康于1990年在泰国大城府省成立了尼康泰国公司【Nikon (Thailand) Co., Ltd.】,它是尼康首个正式的海外生产基地。起初主要从事替换镜头的生产。从1994年起开始生产胶片单反相机“Nikon F-601”。自2004年开始生产数码单反相机“D70”,目前主要负责生产数码单反相机和尼克尔镜头等产品。该基地作为生产尼康相机业务主力产品的核心工厂,支撑着尼康的海外生产体系。

WE LOVE NIKON
interview06 Pong Skuntanaga | 企业高管,现居泰国
rotate

WE LOVE NIKON interview06
Pong Skuntanaga | A Company Executive from Thailand

Bond between Nikon and
Thailand – our pride

Nikon enthusiast
representing Thailand.

Pong Skuntanaga

Mr. Skuntanaga, while being a businessman, you are also a very well known photographer who roams the world with Nikon cameras. What triggered you and how did you get into photography?

 When I was young, I encountered a photobook that inspired me and lead me into photography. At the time, I was looking through the photobook without knowing who the photographer was. When I had grown up, I went back to the photobook again and learned that the collection was taken by His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej (King Rama IX). I was so touched to know that our King Rama IX was so talented to shoot such wonderful photos. All of the photos in the book were meaningful. It may not be easy for foreigners to appreciate this but as a Thai, it is such a wonderful experience to be able to touch upon the works of His Majesty. Ever since, I have been admiring him.
 I am proud of having the Nikon S2 model in my collection. That’s because the Nikon S2 model was one of the cameras that His Majesty used in a very crucial period in time. I remember that the king took this camera everywhere. Looking back, there were so many historical events that were taken by the Nikon S2 model. I’m sure many people may have seen photos of His Majesty with this camera on his lap, or of him shooting with this camera. Many Thais reminisce fondly about him through these images.

Nikon S2

As a Nikon user over many years, how did you feel when you heard that Nikon was establishing its core production line in Thailand?

 As a Thai person and a big fan of Nikon for a very long time, I felt very proud. The fact that Nikon chose Thailand to be its production base means that Nikon believed in the skills of the Thai; that we can produce high-technology cameras worthy of Nikon.
 Compared to brands that have no connection to Thailand, and are there just for the business, the people of Thailand have a better impression of Nikon as a brand that highly regards Thailand and is trying to create a deeper relationship with our country. Personally, I think that further investment in Thailand will create a stronger bond between Nikon and Thailand.

Pong Skuntanaga Nikon S2

It feels like I want to
have Nikon with me all the time.

Which model was your first Nikon camera? Tell us about your first experience with Nikon.

 I still remember the first time I was in a camera shop in Japan to choose my first camera. Every single brand on earth was in the store, and you could literally reach out and touch every one of them. I tried out all the single reflex cameras in the store, one by one, to look for the right sensation. That “this is it!” moment came for the first time when I held the Nikon 801S. The impression I had of my first Nikon camera was that it’s so robust and durable; a perfect match for me.

Nikon F-801S

What kind of photos are you taking with Nikon cameras?

 Usually, I love playing around with photography without limiting myself to any specific style. However, I do prefer some styles over others. As I travel a lot, I always count photography as part of my trip whether it’s for leisure or business. Many of these photos are scenery; the nature, the new and exotic places that I encounter at each destination.
 As for the subject matter, I am very much keen on solar eclipses right now. I consider myself as a “solar eclipse chaser” as the solar eclipse takes place about once a year at different locations across the globe. One of my experiences in 1995 was when a total eclipse of the sun occurred in Thailand. I used the film camera Nikon F801S, together with the AI AF Zoom- NIKKOR 80-200 f/2.8D ED, which was one of the best-known lenses by Nikon back then. My second solar eclipse shooting was at Shanghai, but this time I took it with a digital camera. After two successful shootings, I dreamt of capturing every solar eclipse occurring on earth with my camera. From then until now, I have taken eight eclipses in total, six total eclipses and two annular eclipses. I will continue to capture that moment when the sun hides behind the moon.

Eclipse Eclipse
Photo
Photo Photo

Has any incident left a lasting impression on you while taking pictures on the go?

 I don’t simply choose an ordinary location for taking pictures. Take a look at this photo. This was taken at an Everest Base Camp. Certainly it is not a typical location one would choose. In the region, you can face temperatures ranging between minus 10°C and 20°C, even minus 30°C can occur frequently. But because the starry night from the Base Camp is ethereal beauty, I had to capture it. So I tried extended exposure shooting leaving the camera outside of the tent for about three to four hours. My Nikon camera was working from the moment I pressed the shutter until I retrieved it, and it had recorded every moment of the starry night without breaking. I was amazed. This was one incident where I realized first-hand the exceptional durability of Nikon cameras.

Which is your current favorite camera?

 My first professional digital camera was the D2X. Back then, it was considered one of the best cameras around. Nevertheless, model upgrade is essential for digital cameras as the performance continues to improve year after year. Currently, I’m using a Nikon D5 model as my main camera. The D5 camera is currently the camera with the highest level of performance, offering a combination of high-speed and high-resolution. I think this is the right camera for me at the moment.

Pong Skuntanaga

Tell us which is your favorite camera in your collection

 When the Nikon F4 came out, it gave me the feeling that something big was happening in the world of cameras. The F4 was the first Nikon camera to feature auto focus, besides the F3AF. Back then some photographers would say “auto focus wasn’t good enough” but the F4 was Nikon’s game changer. It was the camera with an auto focus function that went beyond what people typically said about it. Personally, I think F4 is also one of the all-time best designed cameras by Nikon.
 There were also some rare, hard-to-find models. For instance, the “Year of the Dog” model was a model produced in 1994, named after the year according to the Chinese zodiac. It is a Nikon FM2/T model carved with a dog silhouette, with total production of only 300 sets, making it truly rare.
 Let’s talk about lenses too. If you open a NIKKOR lens catalog now, I own just about all of the auto focus lenses in the catalog. For the old-school NIKKOR lenses, I really like the AI Noct NIKKOR 58mm f/1.2. This particular model is a lens for night shooting, which was launched some 40 years ago. Nikon had gone through a single model change and after that, Nikon never produced this kind of lens again. For this reason, it is a very rare item and is considered to be one of the most expensive lenses in the normal-range lens group.
 It isn’t just about cameras and lenses either; I collect every single item that has the “Nikon” name on it, including accessories such as t-shirts, caps, and anything else I can find. I even took photos of a commercial billboard featuring the brand; I feel like I want to be with Nikon all the time.

Year of the Dog AI Noct NIKKOR 58mm f/1.2
Photo

My ideal camera would be
the modern version of Nikon F4.

What would you like to see from Nikon in the future? What kind of products would you want?

 I can say that Nikon and I have been spending lots of time and growing together, spanning a few eras from film cameras till today. Just as it did before, I believe that Nikon with its innovative ideas will continue to come up with better and more modern things all the time. Nikon’s attitude for continuous innovation feeds its power to develop new products ahead of its competitors. I still believe that Nikon can go further... The future of Nikon is still so bright.
 At the moment, I am very much interested in smaller professional camera models. The professional cameras like the D5 are all highly reliable and durable so they can definitely demonstrate their full performance. Right now, I would like to have a smaller camera with the same quality and performance. Just to mention, it would be something like a digital Nikon F4 that could be transformed in many ways. Perhaps in the future, I’d be happy to have a modular camera that allows the type of sensor or size of viewfinder to be changed. Something like a robot where you can remove or change various parts of its body, the back cover, and so on. That sort of modularization is synonymous with Nikon. If we can put that Nikon identity from the film era back into digital cameras, it would be my ideal camera.

Pong Skuntanaga
Pong Skuntanaga

Message to Nikon on the company’s 100th anniversary

It isn’t easy to find a 100-year survivor, either as a human being or a company, especially in this fast changing world. 100 years have passed since the company’s foundation. I’m confident that Nikon can go even further by sticking to its core DNA. And, it will be the leading camera brand forever. If I could live another 100 years, I would use Nikon for another 100 years without any doubt. I chose Nikon the first day I stepped into the camera shop. I feel the power of Nikon through all the cameras and lenses. Certainly, I will never change my perfect choice – Nikon.

Pong Skuntanaga

Mr. Pong Skuntanaga

Nikon (Thailand) Co., Ltd.
Kingdom of Thailand and Nikon

Nikon established the first full-scale overseas production base in 1990, the Nikon (Thailand) Co., Ltd. in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Thailand. The company started with manufacturing interchangeable lenses and went on to manufacture the Nikon F-601, an SLR film camera, in 1994. Then in 2004, the company engaged in the production of a digital SLR camera, the D70. Today, its main manufacturing includes digital SLR cameras and NIKKOR lenses. As a key manufacturing base that makes Nikon’s main products in the camera business, Nikon Thailand supports Nikon’s overseas production system.

WE LOVE NIKON
interview06 Pong Skuntanaga | A Company Executive from Thailand
rotate