WE LOVE NIKON interview05
Rick May | 体育摄影师,现居美国

尼康是激励我前行的动力

一家三代人对尼康的爱支撑着
我作为专业摄影师的职业生涯

Rick May photo

May先生我们知道您目前是作为一名体育摄影师活跃在业界。您最早购买的尼康相机是哪一款呢?当时选择尼康的理由是什么?

  我的祖父和父亲都是尼康的用户,所以我从小就很熟悉尼康的相机。而我作为摄影师选择尼康相机也多少受到了这方面的影响。祖父和父亲都对风景摄影感兴趣。祖父拍摄的黑白照片,哪怕是现在看来,我都觉得很好。我父亲最早购买的尼康相机是“Nikon N6006(F-601)”,从那时候开始,他便成为了尼康的忠实粉丝。我在祖父和父亲拍摄过的犹他州普罗沃河瀑布——从差不多的角度——也拍摄过类似的照片。虽然我完全是在偶然的情况下在同样的地点拍摄到这张照片的,但总觉得说不定是爱摄影的遗传基因冥冥中引导着我去到同一个地点的。由于我就是在这样的环境中成长的,所以很自然地也选择了尼康相机。可以说我家是连续三代的尼康忠实用户了吧。
  我最早购买的尼康相机是数码单反“D70”。当时数码相机刚刚问世不久,不过我还是决定挑战一下数码相机。我在店里试拍了几款照相机,最终确信“D70”是比较理想的一款。橡胶包裹的握把与背面的CF卡盖部分便于抓握,稳定感很好。握把的尺寸和操作按键的位置也很顺手。可以说是跟我的手“很贴合”的一款相机。虽然是第一次使用,但是我也能不看说明书凭感觉直接进行操作。在将“D70”握在手中的瞬间,我就被尼康“征服”了。至今已经有13个年头了。
  我不但相机选择了尼康,在镜头方面也只使用尼克尔镜头,从来不做妥协。对尼康在较长时期内的孕育发展的光学技术的信赖,正是我选择它的理由。回顾尼康长年以来的许多技术创新,我相信尼康在将来也能够继续提供值得信赖的相机和镜头。

Photo Photo Photo

左起分别为May先生的祖父、May先生的父亲、May先生本人拍摄的普罗沃河瀑布

Photo NikonD5

May先生,您作为一名体育摄影师,请问您现在常用于体育摄影的照相机是哪一款呢?

  我在进行体育摄影时,较信赖的相机是“D5”。它良好的高速性能与可靠性是体育摄影师好的拍档。
  我工作的地方处于降雨非常频繁的地区。在室外进行摄影就需要具备一定的防水性能且在多种情况下都能够保证可靠性的摄影器材,否则是难以集中精力投入工作。在摄影工作中,为了能够多拍出一张震撼人心的照片,我必须始终要对周围保持很高的关注,因此没有多余的精力去注意对相机的防护。我选择了尼康的“D5”。它的外形设计也很贴合我的手掌,在拍摄工作时让我觉得已经跟它合为一体。
  体育摄影所捕捉的每一个瞬间都不会给你重拍的机会,对于从事这种工作的我来说,使用一台可靠的照相机可以带来极大的安心感。即使在复杂的天气环境下,其他摄影师发出“糟糕!死机了!”的哀叹时,我的尼康相机仍然能够继续流畅地拍摄每一个瞬间。真的是太棒了!直到现在尼康的D5每次都能回应我对它的信赖。我相信这份信赖在将来也不会改变。

May先生,您为何会从事体育摄影这一行业呢?

  我非常喜欢体育。虽然也喜欢参与到体育运动中去,但是自从开始拍摄体育照片后,我就无法忘却那种拍摄到美妙的瞬间后肾上腺素飙升的感觉。球棒击中棒球、本垒上的触杀、扣篮、足球场上的进球、球门线上的成功扑救等,捕捉到决定性瞬间的照片会获得人们的关注,成为话题。每次拍摄到这种能够体现体育精髓的照片时,我都会享受这种美妙的感觉。

您认为在拍摄体育照片时有什么技巧是特别重要的?

  体育摄影总的来说涵盖范围很广,每一天的拍摄内容都各不相同。摄影师要在现场面对各种各样的拍摄对象。比如体育场等巨大建筑物、为孩子们签名的运动员的表情、比赛中决定性的瞬间、排列整齐的体育器械等等。要在这样的现场选择合适的拍摄方法就必须要精通建筑、人物、动作、静态物等各种类型的拍摄技巧。
  对于体育摄影师来说,什么样的照片算是好照片呢?这取决于拍摄的照片在市场上是否受欢迎。如果别人在报纸或杂志上看到我在体育场拍的照片时会产生“下次希望在这个体育场看比赛”的想法,那将会是令我振奋而难忘的一天吧。

体育摄影用“D5”、
风景摄影用“D810”

May先生,您除了进行体育摄影以外,也拍摄了大量的风景照片。拍摄风景时,您喜欢哪一款照相机呢?

  拍摄风景的话我当然是选择“D810”。它的细节还原能力很棒,表现优秀。在黎明以及黄昏时进行拍摄就更是如此。当然“D5”也足够胜任拍摄风景的要求,不过在有更多时间进行拍摄时,“D810”的描写力则更有韵味。不用它进行拍摄的话,会给我一种好像忘带了什么东西似的感觉。最近我还购买了“D810A”,开始用它进行天文摄影,对于月亮和星星可以拍摄到如此程度,真的让我很感叹。

photo photo

您认为体育照片和风景照片最大的区别是什么?它们又有什么共同点呢?

  可能从表面上来看体育和风景是两个完全不相关的领域。体育的运动是快,而风景则是静。体育照片需要能够反射性地捕捉运动员的动作,而风景照片则需要慢慢地花时间进行拍摄。不过,两者之间也存在着众多共通的部分。它们都需要将自己想要展示的画面浓缩在一个镜头之中,并需要为此进行大量细致的准备工作。风景拍摄时,需要细心地追逐光影的变化,为了能够捕捉到最美的瞬间,就可以用到我作为体育摄影师预测比赛发展并在瞬间作出反应的技术。而创造性地利用光影效果拍摄出一张照片,这正是对于两者来说都必不可少的技巧。

photo photo

尼康的悠久历史支撑着人们的信赖

您迄今为止所使用的尼康产品中,印象最深的是哪一款?

  我第一次将“D4”握在手里时,非常地感动。感觉像是打开了新世界的大门。我之前使用的是“D300”。“D4”对我来说是巨大的进化。1次充电就可以长时间在昏暗的场所进行连续拍摄。之后推出的“D4S”更让我惊异地发现“D4”竟然还有进一步提升性能、速度和高感度的空间。
  镜头方面,我在400mm f/2.8开始发售后就马上买到手了。它拥有很好的图像性能,而且在重量控制上也较为出色。现在想来,新的500mm f/4比它还要轻呢。当时,在新的产品中,105 mm f/1.4镜头可以做到从人像到体育运动的多方面覆盖,这款镜头的表现力也让我感到满意。

您心中的尼康特色是什么呢?

  我认为是尼康面对产品的耿直的态度。我能够在尼康的产品中感受到尼康在相机中倾注的热情。尼康生产产品并不仅仅是为了“销售”“赚钱”,而是从购买者或使用者的角度去思考职业摄影师或是摄影爱好者们的需求是什么的态度。尼康作为一家企业,在影像文化的振兴和市场扩展方面掌握了很好的平衡。这对于我而言,也是非常重要的。
  请看看我的收藏品。我根据自己的喜好,为我觉得满意的相机配备了自认为非常合适的镜头,结果就是这里摆放的全部都是尼康相机和尼克尔镜头。而且,我至今为止所购买和拥有的尼康产品都没有让我失望。所以,我想我今后也会与尼康一起走下去。

photo photo

对尼康创立100周年纪念的赠言

我要感谢所有在尼康从事产品研发、生产、质量管理及参与各项业务的人们。感谢你们为了生产出好的摄影器材而付出的辛苦、热情以及为此献身的精神。尼康带给了我很好的器材。如果要说还有什么欠缺的话,那一定是我的想象力。正是尼康从背后支持了我选择从事摄影师这一行业,同时也帮助我成为了一名优秀的摄影师。我想说正是有了在尼康工作的各位,才成就了今天的我。而尼康在相机上所倾注的热情,也激励着我去拍摄出更美丽的照片。尼康是激励我前行的动力。

Rick May

Rick May先生

所属団体:
Nikon Professional Services(NPS)尼康专业服务
American Society of Media Photographers(ASMP)美国媒体摄影师协会
The Royal Photographic Society(RPS)英国皇家摄影学会

WE LOVE NIKON
interview05 Rick May | 体育摄影师,现居美国
rotate

WE LOVE NIKON interview05
Rick May | Sports Photographer from the United States

Nikon, my creative energy

Nikon is a 3-generation family tradition
that has supported my professional career.

Rick May photo

Mr. May, you are a professional sports photographer. Could you start by telling us what your first camera was, and why you chose Nikon?

 As a young child, I was always around my grandfather and father, both Nikon users, so there was that familiarity. They both liked to take landscapes. Even now I’m impressed when I look at my grandfather’s monochrome shot of Upper Provo River Falls in Utah. My father’s first Nikon was the N6006 and he continues to be a steadfast Nikon user. In fact, he went back to capture the same scene at the falls. And by pure coincidence, I did too. Maybe this love of photography is in our genes and it drew us back to that same spot in Utah. With this family background, my choice of Nikon was only natural. Three generations of Nikon fans!
 My first Nikon was a DSLR, the D70. Digital was just beginning to take off and I was looking to join the adventure. After trying out several bodies in the store, I found the D70 to be the winner. With rubber surrounding the hand grip and coating the memory card slot cover on the rear of the camera, the D70 was comfortable and steady to hold. The grip was just the right size and the controls well located. I found it fit my hand better, offered a more intuitive interface, and literally just “felt right.” I became a Nikon lover from the moment I held the D70. And that was thirteen years ago.
 Once I made the decision, I also decided that I would not compromise on my glass and to this day own only NIKKOR lenses. Nikon’s long history in imaging technology was something I could trust and a key factor behind my choice. With years of innovation behind Nikon, I knew they would continue providing cameras and lenses I could trust.

Photo Photo Photo

Upper Provo River Falls taken by 3 generations – grandfather, father, and Rick May himself

Photo NikonD5

As a sports photographer, what cameras do you currently use in your work?

 Today, my sports gear centers around the D5. It’s the most trustworthy camera in the world. With its incredible high-speed performance and reliability, I think it’s got to be the No.1 choice for a sports photographer.
 Now where I work there’s a whole lot of rain. When I can go out, knowing that my gear is water-resistant, secure in the knowledge that it will work in any kind of conditions, I’m free to focus on the job, which is telling the story through visual means. When I’m on assignment, I don’t have time to worry about my camera. I’m constantly looking around to capture as many as possible of those fleeting, special moments. My D5 can do that every time. It fits my hand perfectly – like an extension of my body.
 So, it’s the peace of mind for me, knowing that I’m going to pick up one of the world’s best pieces of camera equipment and go out and do my job. With sports assignments, you can’t retake a shot. In bad weather, I see other people out there complaining that their camera froze up or something. But I’m just motoring along with my Nikons. I love them. I believe in the product and it repays my trust. I think that it’s going to continue to do so for years to come.

Why did you become a sports photographer?

 I love sports. I love playing them and as a photographer. I’m addicted to the adrenaline rush you get when you get that perfect shot. It could be the ball on the bat, the tag at home plate, the dunk, the goal on the pitch, the outstretched hands just crossing the goal line – take your pick. Those are the images that we all love and talk about. And when you capture it, the essence of the moment – it’s an awesome feeling.

What kind of skill set do you think is important when photographing sports?

 There’s a great deal of variety to sports photography. On any given day, the assignment is different. You may come across all sorts of different subjects when you’re out there. You can be asked to capture the stadium, the signing of an autograph for a young fan, hitting the key moment during the game, a stack of equipment ... you have to be versed in all of these genres – architecture, portraits, action and still life.
 What makes a good image? It all depends on whether the shot has great marketing potential. If, say, someone finds my stadium photo in a newspaper or magazine, will they want to be at the next game to see it for themselves? If the shot succeeds, then it’s a good day.

The D5 for sports,
the D810 for landscapes

Apart from sports, you take many landscapes. Which camera do you prefer to use for landscapes?

 For my landscape work, nothing beats the D810. The details are stunning, and the difference is clear. I’m in awe of the capabilities of the D810, more so when the camera is used pre-dawn and after dusk. Sure, I could get away with the D5. But landscapes require careful consideration and the D810 brings a special satisfaction to that. I’d feel as if I would be leaving something behind by not using it. Also, I’ve just started to get into astro-photography using the D810A and I’m blown away by how it allows me to shoot the moon and stars.

photo photo

What would you say is the greatest difference between sports and landscape photography? And what do they have in common?

 On the surface, they would seem to be very different. Sports is fast action; landscapes are quiet solitude. Sports is reactionary, whereas landscapes are more a product of planning. But when you look closer, they share quite a bit. Both require you to visualize what you want, both require planning. And while landscape is indeed a slower pace, chasing light and being ready for those brief moments brings into play the skills you use as a sports photographer – reading the flow of the game and being ready to capture that particular moment in time. And one skill I think that is common to both is the ability to use the light in a creative way to capture that shot.

photo photo

Nikon’s long history is behind
the products’ reliability.

Of all the Nikon products that you have used, which model has made the greatest impression on you?

 When I finally got my hands on a D4, I was amazed – a whole new world opened to me. I was coming from the D300, so the leap was significant. I was able to work in lower light and for longer on a single charge. Then came the D4S. How could it be faster and even more accurate than the D4? Incredible!
 When the new 400mm f/2.8 lens launched, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I was blown away by the lack of weight, not to mention the images. And to think the new 500mm f/4 feels even lighter! My latest acquisition is the 105mm f/1.4. From portrait work, to using it in sports – I am speechless.

What would you say makes Nikon distinctive?

 I think it’s the whole attitude to engineering. I can sense the passion that Nikon invests in its cameras, in all its products. It’s the attitude to development – not prioritizing sales or profits but what professionals need and what they need to have working, right? I think Nikon, as a company, has really demonstrated balance in its business, promoting the culture of photography and expanding the market. And, you know, that, to me, is important.
 Look at the gear that I have here. It’s the result of investing in what I see as the best camera bodies and the best lenses to match them. As you’ll notice, there is nothing other than Nikon or NIKKOR lens. And I’ve not to this day had an issue with anything that I’ve ever owned or bought. That’s why I am sticking with Nikon.

photo photo

Message to Nikon on the company’s 100th anniversary

To everyone at Nikon, and particularly to those in manufacturing, product development, engineering, quality control, accounting and everywhere – THANK YOU. Thank you for your vision, your passion and dedication to creating the best photography products known today. You give me incredible tools and the only thing holding me back is my imagination. You make me a better photographer and motivate me to push myself. Nikon, you truly are my creative energy.

Rick May

Mr. Rick May

Rick May is a member of:
Nikon Professional Services(NPS)
ASMP – American Society of Media Photographers
RPS – The Royal Photographic Society

WE LOVE NIKON
interview05 Rick May | Sports Photographer from the United States
rotate