WE LOVE NIKON interview04
Ashok Kandimalla | 摄影顾问,现居印度

尼康,优美的精密机械

尼康之美,
是精密和可靠的象征

Ashok Kandimalla Ashok Kandimalla

Kandimalla先生曾经长时间担任IT企业的首席技术官(CTO),目前作为摄影顾问在业界活跃,迄今为止的职业经历有起到怎样的作用吗?

  我甚至觉得我是“为了成为摄影师而成为一名IT专家的”,照相机与照片在我的人生中占有相当重要的地位。能够成为一名摄影顾问,IT行业的知识起到了很重要的作用。我认为数码相机的本质是电脑一类的产品,为了深度理解数码照相机,IT,即所谓的信息技术的知识有相当重要的作用。再加上我是电子工学的专家,可以从影像传感器和影像处理器在数码相机中如何运作的细节开始,去深入理解数码相机的本质。
  迄今为止我所掌握的知识,对于在各类活动和研讨会中教授照相机知识,或者在杂志写文章时有非常大的帮助。IT相关的职业经历,让我在摄影相关的工作中有了很大的优势。于我而言,作为IT专家的职业生涯和作为摄影顾问的职业生涯有同等重要的地位。

对于刚入门的摄影爱好者,开始时应该教授什么东西呢?

  自数码相机问世以来,爱好摄影的人虽然不断增多,但遗憾的是,能够理解照相机基础知识的人并不多。由于这个原因导致对摄影失去兴趣的人也不少。我希望能够正确教授这一人群照相机的基础知识,让其能够长期享受摄影的乐趣。
  当然,作为尼康的爱好者,也是我开始摄影顾问事业的动力。谈论数码相机的时候,也希望通过自己拥有的尼康相机,将摄影的魅力尽可能地传达给更多的人。

如果要给研讨会的参加者推荐尼康的产品,请问您会选择哪一款照相机和镜头呢?

  如果要推荐照相机和镜头,很难只推荐一种组合。针对拍摄者想拍摄的内容和希望在照片中所表现的东西,会有不同的组合。
  例如,如果想拍摄风景和肖像,我会推荐“D750”。如果有一定的拍摄经验,“D810”会是一个不错的选择。镜头推荐24-120mm,或者35mm f/1.8这样的广角定焦镜头。
  如果要拍摄动物,远摄变焦镜头是不可或缺的,我个人认为哺乳类动物选用80-400mm、鸟类则选择200-500mm比较合适。以前,我可能会优先推荐“D7200”,现在我更乐意推荐尼康DX格式的旗舰机型“D500”。
  入门者可以从“D5000”系列开始使用。对于这类人群,镜头可以尝试能够拍摄出背景虚化照片,并且在光线不足的情况下也能够拍摄出漂亮照片的35mm f/1.8或者50mm f/1.8明亮镜头。

喜欢尼康,
是喜欢它的美,它的可靠性

你觉得尼康有什么优点?尼康又有什么样的魅力呢?

  我喜欢尼康相机的可靠性。我有一个朋友就觉得“尼康相机不太会坏”,所以就只有一台机身。我自己也在长年使用尼康的相机,多年来都能够安心拍摄。
  而且不得不提到其设计很好。无论是机身按键的配置、手柄还是旋钮,细节等方面考虑到人体工学设计。尤为出众的是机身整体的设计,即外观设计。尼康最初的单反照相机“Nikon F”,线条简洁优美。如此漂亮的设计,仅仅是欣赏其外观就是一种享受。
  并且,尼康相机操作性好。按钮的配置和菜单经过优化,简明易懂。当然,功能方面也能够满足大家的需求。这就是尼康的魅力吧。

能否列举出现在拥有的尼康相机中的前三位呢?

  这真是一个挺难的问题。虽然从性能上看,“D750”的性能很好,但我最喜欢的还是1977年发售的“Nikon F2 Photomic AS”。和这个相机的相遇也是一个偶然。当时在某个相机商店中偶然碰到想出售这个相机的人,烦恼了一个晚上后还是决定购买。相机的状态很好,用后更加觉得好了。
  这个相机搭载了长至10秒的慢速机械快门。当时在我拥有的相机中快门时间能够达到如此长度的仅此一款。而且,这款相机也很牢固。
  然后要提到的是“Nikon FE2”。通常一个产品停产后,多数人会更新换代到新产品,但“Nikon FE2”停产时,相当一部分用户仍然没有弃用,我也是其中之一。“Nikon FE2”是一款很简单易用的产品。取景器的显示效果很好,设定一目了然。这也是当时的摄影师所期待的功能。

photo

执着于机械快门,
是因为我是一名工程师

Kandimalla先生作为尼康的收藏家,似乎注重于收集搭载了机械快门的机型。这是出于什么原因呢?

  执着于机械快门,是因为我是一名工程师。在工程师当中,很多人都会倾情于精密设计机械的魅力,我也是其中之一。那时候就邂逅了照相机这种精密机械。其中搭载了机械快门的尼康相机的高精密度俘虏了我的心。从那时起,我就决定了要收集所有搭载了机械快门的机型。当时不仅使用了互联网的拍卖渠道,还走访了美国的店铺。为了收集所有的机型花费了大概15~20年的时间,现在我感到很满足。

Nikon FM2

在收集尼康照相机的过程中,有没有什么印象深刻的经历呢?

  当时非常想要2000年发售的“Nikon FM2”限定版,为了得到它,我想尽了一切办法。这个限定版是机身和镜头刻着同一序列号的一套设备。为了寻找这一套限定版套装花了很多功夫。由于这个型号没有进口到印度,我几乎走遍了所有可能的地方,终于在两个月后找到了。虽然价格非常高,但是并没有太在意。这款照相机算是我的最难入手的一款。

Nikon FM2

2000年在香港限量发售2000台的
“Nikon FM2 Kit Millennium Edition”

photo

今后对于尼康有什么样的期待呢?以及希望看到什么样的产品?

  非常想要FX格式的无反相机,一直在等待。应该有很多人都在期待这个产品。此外还想要用于街拍的具有高性能镜头的便携相机。传感器能够有DX格式大小就更好了。

photo
photo

对尼康创立100周年纪念的赠言

能够在这个场合下发言,我感到非常荣幸。我认为尼康为了赢得用户的信赖和高度的评价,一直以来倾注了很大的努力。我相信尼康为了我们用户,为了相机业界的发展,今后仍然会贯彻这份努力。我衷心希望尼康的发展能够更上一层楼。最后,这是我个人的愿望,请务必制作新型的无反相机。并且不要忘记一直以来使用尼康的老用户,大家都期待能够将过去的镜头用在最新的机身上。(访问日期:2017年3月)

Ashok Kandimalla

Ashok Kandimalla先生

WE LOVE NIKON
interview04 Ashok Kandimalla | 摄影顾问,现居印度
rotate

WE LOVE NIKON interview04
Ashok Kandimalla | Photography Consultant from India

Nikon means beautiful engineering

Precision cameras
one can trust.

Ashok Kandimalla Ashok Kandimalla

Mr. Kandimalla, you served for many years as CTO at an IT firm before becoming a photography consultant. In what ways has your previous career shaped your current job?

 Cameras and photography occupy a big part of my life. I can almost say that I became an IT specialist in order to become a good photographer. Thus it is not an overstatement to say that knowledge of IT has been of great help to me in becoming a photography consultant. You see, the inside of a modern camera is like a computer, so familiarity with information technology certainly helps you understand how a digital camera works. Plus, because I am an electrical engineer, I really understand the finer points – from how the sensor and image processing engine work, to the smallest details of how a digital camera functions.
 The knowledge I have acquired so far has given me a significant advantage when teaching at workshops or when writing magazine articles. My career in IT has benefitted my work as a photographer. In that sense, both my careers – as an IT expert and as a photography consultant – are equally important to me.

What do you first teach beginners in photography?

 Many people have taken up photography as a hobby after digital cameras came out. At the same time, however, few are aware of the fundamentals of photography. Because of that, many end up losing their interest in it. I want those people to enjoy photography for a long time, so I have been trying to put them on the right track and teach them properly about the fundamentals.
 Of course, it’s true that being an avid Nikon fan was behind my motivation to start as a photography consultant. When I talk about digital cameras, I want to convey to as many people as possible my fascination for photography through Nikon cameras, the brand which is most familiar to me.

If you were to recommend a Nikon to participants in a workshop or at a lecture, which camera and which lens would you choose?

 I could not limit my recommendations to one combination of lens and camera, simply because the best combination depends on what the person wants to shoot, what they want from photography.
 For instance, if they are into shooting landscapes or portraits, I would recommend the D750. If they have more of a photographic background, then I would probably suggest the D810. For the lens, a 24-120mm or even a wide-angle prime lens such as the 35mm f/1.8 would be good.
 If someone is into wildlife photography, I would definitely suggest a telephoto zoom – 80-400mm for animals, or 200-500mm for birds. In the past, I used to recommend the D7200 to people; however, now I tell them to go for the D500, the flagship model for the DX format.
 If the person is a complete beginner, then they should pick the D5000 series. As for the lens, I would like them to try the 35mm f/1.8 or 50mm f/1.8 because each is a good prime lens that can create bokeh effects and perform well in low-light conditions.

What do I like about Nikon products?
Their reliability and design.

What do you think makes Nikon products superior, and what makes them so appealing to you?

 The feature I like best about Nikon products is their reliability. There are some friends of mine who own only one Nikon body. “This is a Nikon, so no worries. It won’t fail me,” they say. I personally have been using Nikon cameras for a long time. I can always rely on them and feel safe using them in any situation.
 Next is the beautiful design. By design I mean the ergonomics: they think carefully about how all the controls are placed. And then there’s the physical appearance, the shape. If you look at the original – the first Nikon SLR, the Nikon F – you can see very clean lines, like some beautiful piece of architecture. And if you remove the lens, you discover the wonderful organization of triangles, lines, squares and circles. Nikons are beautifully designed and fun just to look at.
 Another advantage is that Nikon cameras are easy to learn and use. All the ergonomics and menus are well thought out, which makes it easy to understand what is what. And the terminology that Nikon uses is consistent from one model to the next, so at first glance you know how to operate it.
 I am also very much satisfied in terms of functionality. The high sensitivity and high-speed performance are excellent. And, best of all, many of the old lenses will fit the latest 2017 camera body. That’s what thrills me about Nikon.

What are your 3 favorite Nikon cameras in the collection?

 That’s a very difficult question to answer. Performance-wise the most impressive one I have is the D750. But my real favorite is the Nikon F2 Photomic AS, which came out in 1977. It was a sheer coincidence that this camera came to my attention. I had gone into a camera shop and found a man who wanted to sell it. I thought about the camera for one night before buying it. It was in very good condition. And as soon as I used it I realized it’s a great camera.
 The camera is equipped with a mechanical shutter that allows long exposures of up to 10 seconds. This is the only camera I have that’s able to shoot at such slow shutter speeds. It’s tough as well. If you throw it on the floor, the floor will break. You can even hit it with a hammer (I’m just joking).
 My next choice would be the Nikon FE2. When one model is discontinued, many people are happy to switch to the new one. But that was not the case with the FE2. When it was discontinued, many found it hard to accept that Nikon would stop making such a fine product. I was no exception. The FE2 is very simple and easy to use. The viewfinder display is wonderful: it shows your settings so you can check them at a glance. That must have been a very welcome feature for photographers when it first appeared.

photo

It’s because
I’m an engineer
that I’m so keen
on mechanical shutters.

I hear you are especially keen on collecting Nikon cameras with mechanical shutters. Why is that?

 The reason I have always been keen on mechanical shutters is that I was an engineer. Like most engineers I’m fascinated by finely engineered machines. And the camera was exactly such a product. I was especially taken with the accuracy and precision of Nikon cameras with mechanical shutters. So I decided to collect all such models. I looked everywhere for them, searching online auction and shopping websites, and even travelling all the way to the US. It took me 15 to 20 years to complete my collection, but now I am very happy with it.

Nikon FM2

While collecting Nikon cameras, did you have any experiences that made a lasting impression?

 I went to a great deal of trouble to get hold of one particular model – the limited-edition Nikon FM2 that was released in 2000. This model comes as a set, body and lens having the same serial number. I searched all over for it. It was not imported into India at that time, so I asked around at many places, and finally found it after two months. Even though the quoted price was quite high, that did not bother me at all. No other model has been such a challenge to acquire.

Nikon FM2

The Nikon FM2 Kit Millennium Edition,
limited to 2,000 sets, was sold in Hong Kong in 2000.

photo

What would you like to see from Nikon in the future? What kind of products would you want?

 I would really like to see an FX-format mirrorless camera. I’m sure that many Nikon customers must have requested this. Another wish is for a compact camera with a good lens for street photography. I would love to have one if it came with a sensor as large as the DX format.

photo
photo

Message to Nikon on the company’s 100th anniversary

It is a great honor to be invited to address Nikon directly like this. I know the company must have worked tremendously hard to develop so much goodwill, trust and prestige. And I am sure Nikon will continue doing the same, for its customers as well as for the future of the industry. I wish Nikon all the best. And, if I may, I would like to make a request – that is, for Nikon to bring out a new mirrorless camera. Also, please do not forget us old customers. We love to try out our old lenses with the latest camera bodies. (Interviewed in March 2017)

Ashok Kandimalla

Mr. Ashok Kandimalla

WE LOVE NIKON
interview04 Ashok Kandimalla | Photography Consultant from India
rotate