我们爱尼康 interview01
Peter Braczko | 摄影记者,现居德国

我儿子的名字叫Nikon

Nikon是我人生中不可或缺的一部分



Peter Braczko先生

我们听说Braczko先生将您儿子的中间名字取为“Nikon”。您能跟我们说说您取Nikon这个名字的时候是有着怎样的想法吗?

  1990年,我的第一个儿子出生了。我想了很久要给他取什么名字,后来我将他的名字定为Felix。而后,中间名字定为Nikon。这并不是什么想让别人大吃一惊的做法。因为Nikon就是我自己的人生。因为Nikon就是我的人生中不可或缺的一部分。我一直和Nikon在一起。一开始,我的妻子也觉得很困惑,但现在,妻子和孩子听多了我取名的原因以后都很喜欢Nikon这个名字。

Felix “Nikon” Braczko先生 Felix “Nikon” Braczko先生

正在谈着自己的名字的
Felix Nikon Braczko先生。

Felix先生对自己被取名为Nikon这件事情有什么感想吗?

  小时候,我一点也不想告诉别人这个名字,也从来没有特地用过这个名字。直到进入大学以后,我发现用这个名字作为聊天的话题还挺好用的。在派对上经常和人玩“猜名字”的游戏。会给出一些像是“这并不是一个常见的名字”、“要说起来还是技术类的”、“也许是相机”这样的提示让别人去猜。偶尔也会有人猜出别的相机品牌的名字,但知道正确答案是Nikon的时候,都还挺惊讶的。现在,我很享受自己的名字所带来的乐趣。

photo

1997年,在特内里费岛(隶属于西班牙加那利群岛),
用“Nikon F4”拍下了7岁的Felix Nikon Braczko小朋友。

二手的也好,
带着伤痕的也好,
都没有关系

Braczko先生,您第一次是什么时候买下了您人生中不可或缺的尼康相机呢?

  第一次购买尼康相机是在1968年德国科隆市举办的世界影像博览会上。当时我虽然很喜欢“Nikon F”,但对当时的我而言,它实在太贵了,我无从下手。所以,我就买了Nikkormat。我很快就对这台相机着了迷。它既可靠,拍出来的照片效果又很好。尤其值得一提的是,我对它的镜头的质量很是震惊。到现在,它还用得好好的。有时怀念了,还经常拿出来用用。Nikkormat是我买的第一台尼康相机。
  从那以后,只要有时间我就会去摆弄相机,渐渐地我就喜欢上了尼康。从“Nikkormat”开始,到“Nikon M”、“Nikon F”、“F2”、“F3”,再到数码相机。喜欢的型号数也数不清,我买了很多二手的尼康相机,我并不在意它是不是新品,也不在意相机的外观。无论是二手的也好,还是带着伤痕的也好,都没有关系。总之,只要是尼康,它对我来说就很重要。我把这些相机都当作家人一样喜爱。您看,这就是我的尼康家族。

Camera collections Camera collections

好棒的收藏品啊!那么,您印象特别深刻的相机是哪一台呢?

  一台是1978年左右我刚开始在报社工作时买的“F2”。一开始用就喜欢上了。作为一台机器,它品质过硬,值得信赖,可以替换的镜头很多。可以更换的取景器也很丰富。所以,要说让我选择一台印象深刻的相机的话,那就是这台了。
  另一台是“Df”。这台相机基本满足了我的期望。我认为,它实现了从数字技术相机到数码相机很好的过渡和融合。它还可以使用以前的尼康镜头。也不会太重。很值得信赖。应对工作需要自不用说,私下我也经常使用它。每次使用,它都会让我产生怦然心动的感觉。它就是一台这样的相机。
  镜头的话,印象比较深的是尼康的80-200mm f/2.8。它是一个多用镜头,在拍摄运动图片和进行肖像摄影时表现良好。尤其是它的清晰度。变焦镜头对于一名摄影记者来说很有必要。同样优秀的是它的鱼眼和移位镜头。尼康这款镜头能同时兼顾到追求拍摄特别图像的人群的需求。

您认为,尼康具有哪些别的品牌所不具备的优点呢?

  丰富的镜头自不用说,它还能够考虑到细节,这就是尼康的优点之一吧。从菜单、导航、手感到操作的简易性,这些都是。因此,尼康的相机,无论哪个型号都能够直观地快速地上手使用。
  对于摄影记者的工作而言,不仅是相机,闪光灯等的配件也非常重要。尼康丰富了能适合各种型号相机的多种配件。我认为这也是尼康的优点之一。能够配合拍摄情况选择适合的配件,这是很重要的。

期待新产品不仅能满足专业人士,也能让业余爱好者感受到幸福

我们知道,Braczko先生一直活跃在摄影记者的工作岗位上,那么您是因为什么原因选择了摄影这个职业的呢?

  我会经常拍照。在记录自己生活的街道的时候,有时也能遇上为当地的报社工作的机会,所以我就决定成为一名摄影记者。我很享受这份工作。可以遇到各种各样的人,也可以拥有作为一名摄影记者的自信。就算让我再选择一次,我还是会毫不犹豫地选择这一职业。

那么,您拍了这么多年的照片,其中最喜欢的照片是哪张呢?能给我们展示一下吗?

  这个问题好难回答呀。没有最喜欢的这一说啦。我拍了几千张的照片,换成数码相机以后,拍摄的数量更是日益增长。当然,在这其中还是有融入了我很深的感情的照片。应该就是这张在自家所在地德国鲁尔区(Ruhrgebiet)拍摄的照片。这张照片是和朋友骑车去旅行回来的时候,以美丽的工业地区为背景拍摄的。虽然这是1987年拍的照片,但最近在《明星》*杂志的摄影比赛中获得了第二名,让我十分惊讶。当然,这张照片也是使用尼康拍摄的。
*每周发行量约70万本的德国著名新闻周刊

photo
photo

1987年用“Nikon F3”拍摄。在《明星》杂志的摄影比赛中荣获第二名。

尼康在今年将迎来创立100周年纪念。今后,您对尼康还有一些什么期待呢?或者,您期待见到怎样的新产品呢?

  我对至今为止的尼康相机都很满意,但它们也确实仍有改进的空间。我希望能有更紧凑、更轻盈、更静音的相机出现。比如 “D5”,我还有这样的期待,因为是尼康,所以其实已经开始开发不仅能为专业人士带来满意,也能让业余爱好者感受到幸福的新产品了。

Camera collections
Camera collections

对尼康创立100周年纪念的赠言

希望能保持传统,继续生产和现有产品一样优质的产品。非要说改进的话,就是今后也请继续积极听取专业人士的意见,努力开发与时俱进、适应时代潮流的产品。这些要求,我并不是希望一下子就实现。慢慢来就好了。只要能不忘初心,我相信,再过100年,尼康也依旧能够是深受人们喜爱的品牌。

Peter Braczko先生

Peter Braczko先生

我们爱尼康
interview01 Peter Braczko | 摄影记者,现居德国
rotate

WE LOVE NIKON interview01
Peter Braczko | Photojournalist from Germany

My son’s name is Nikon

Nikon is my life.

Peter Braczko

Mr. Braczko, we heard that you gave your son the middle name of “Nikon”. Could you share the thoughts and feelings you had when you named your son that?

 In 1990, our first son was born. After giving serious thought as to what to name him, we decided on Felix as the first name. And, for the middle name, we chose Nikon. It was an obvious choice for me, and not a big surprise. Why? Because Nikon is my life. Nikon is indispensable in my life. Nikon was always with me. At first, my wife was not so thrilled about the name, but now both my wife and son enjoy the name Nikon as it always gives him a story to tell.

Felix “Nikon” Braczko Felix “Nikon” Braczko

Mr. Felix Nikon Braczko,
who shared us his thoughts about his own name.

Felix, how do you feel about your father giving you Nikon as a middle name?

 Well, as a child, as many would not want to tell others your middle name, which was the case for me and I wasn’t using it that much. Though, later in college I realized this name has always been a great conversation starter. At parties and get together, I had turned it into a game to let others guess my middle name. I’d give hints, like “it’s not a common name”, “it’s something techy”, then onto “it may be a camera” and so forth. People would then start answering with name of other brands or technologies, but in the end everyone finds out that it’s Nikon, which surprises, even shocks some, but most finds it amusing. It’s nothing bad for me, and I am having fun with my middle name.

Photo

A shot of Mr. Braczko’s son
Felix Nikon (age seven) using Nikon F4,
Tenerife Island (Canary Islands), 1997

Used, or with some scratches here and there, is no big deal

Mr. Braczko, when did you encounter your first Nikon camera, which subsequently became an indispensable part of your life?

 It was back in 1968 at photokina held in Cologne. I was thrilled with Nikon F, but I couldn’t afford it. So instead, I went for a Nikkormat and I fell in love with it. The camera was reliable in every aspect and the outcome—pictures were so satisfying. But what really intrigued me was the quality of the lenses. They were great back then and still are today. For nostalgic reasons, I sometimes dig out some of those old lenses and use them, even today. So to answer your question, Nikkormat is my first Nikon camera.
 Ever since, I have been fiddling with cameras day after day and I got to like Nikon more and more. I bought the Nikon M, then came Nikon F, F2, F3, and onto digital cameras. There were jillions of Nikons I got attracted to so I bought them all used. For me, they didn’t have to be new or look new. Whether they are used or have a bit of marks and scratches here and there doesn’t really matter. To me, these cameras being Nikons were most important. I simply like those cameras as they represent the whole Nikon family. Take a look at my Nikon family!

Camera collections Camera collections

You have a quite impressive collection but which camera is the most striking one?

 First is the Nikon F2, which is the one I bought in 1978 when I started working for a newspaper. The camera thrilled me as soon as I started to use it, with its mechanical quality, its reliability, and the opportunity to use so many Nikon lenses with it. It has an excellent exchangeable viewfinder. So if you ask me to name a Nikon that I will always remember, this is the one.
 Then next comes the Nikon Df. This camera has got absolutely everything what I ever wished for. It provided the perfect transition and integration between analogue and digital photography. I can still use my old lenses with it, and it’s not that heavy but very reliable. Of course I use it as a tool of my trade, but I also use the Df for private occasions and holidays. It’s a camera that excites me every time I use it.
 In terms of lens, I really like the 80-200mm f/2.8. It is a great, all-rounder lens, but I really feel it’s especially suited for sports photography and shooting portraits. The sharpness is excellent. The zoom lens is an absolute must for any photojournalist. Also wonderful are the fisheye and shift lenses. Nikon has really got their eyes on small niches with the intention to cater to people who do not only take normal photos, but also need matching lenses for their specific needs. Nikon deserves a lot of credit to have brought all these special lenses to market.

Tell us, what makes Nikon cameras special that you do not find with other camera brands?

 In my opinion, Nikon offers thoroughly thought-out products, not to mention their selection of lenses. Simply everything, from menu and navigation to surface texture and overall handling. That’s why when I hold a Nikon in my hand, I can use it intuitively because I instantly know how it works.
 The job of photojournalist depends not just on the camera but also accessories such as speed light. Nikon offers accessories that perfectly match each camera. This also is something special about Nikon. Getting to use optimum accessories that match specific shooting conditions is very important.

Looking forward to new products that make people happy, professionals and amateurs alike

Mr. Braczko, may we ask you as a photojournalist—what made you decide to go into journalism?

 I was always taking photos. I was fortunate to get an opportunity to start working for the local paper, when I was documenting my home city, and started to work as a photojournalist. I enjoyed it a lot. I got to meet many people and proved myself as a genuine photojournalist. If I had a chance to choose my profession again, I would choose this interesting job once more without hesitation.

Do you have any amusing stories to share with us as a photojournalist?

 In the 80s, I had a photo shoot in a forest to cover its forestation after a huge storm. There was another German photographer with a German brand camera, who was giving a stony stare at my Nikon gear throughout the session. Then an hour or so after the session, he called asking me if I could lend him the negatives, as his films ripped. I think he was leaning toward switching to a Nikon.

Mr. Braczko, can you show us your favorite photo you have taken so far?

 That’s a difficult question. I actually don’t have a favorite shot. I have taken thousands of photos, and the number got even greater in the digital era. Of course, there have been photos I’ve felt especially attached to. One of those photos is of my home town, the Ruhrgebiet area. This shot was taken while coming back from a bicycling trip with a friend with the beautiful industrial setting in the background. Although it was shot back in 1987, I was surprised that the photo recently won second prize in the Stern-photo contest*. Of course it was taken on a Nikon, because that’s all I use.
*Stern is a German popular weekly news magazine, boasting a circulation of 700,000 copies per week. 

photo
photo

Taken in 1987 using Nikon F3.
Winner of the 2nd prize in the Stern magazine photo contest.

This year, Nikon will be celebrating its 100th anniversary. What expectations do you have for Nikon, and what kind of products would you like to see?

 I am content with the cameras up until now, but I’m sure there is always room for improvement. For instance, cameras could be a bit more compact, lighter, and quieter. How about a much smaller D5? But I imagine that Nikon is already aware of the needs and will introduce new products, which will keep all of us – both professionals and amateurs – happy.

Camera collections
Camera collections

Message to Nikon on the company’s 100th anniversary

The only thing is, keep up the good work. And, let it suffice to say that Nikon should listen to the words of professionals, always be aware of the trends and continue to try to take these into account. It doesn’t have to happen quickly. Why? That’s because Nikon products have to be reliable, and the company has to continue developing a wide range of equipment. If Nikon continues down this path, then the company will be endeared for another 100 years.

Peter Braczko

Mr. Peter Braczko

WE LOVE NIKON
interview01 Peter Braczko | Photojournalist from Germany
rotate